Fun Sewing Project

I have a skirt that I bought at Wal-Mart several years ago. After noticing how the skirt was made in panels, I thought it might be easy to trace a pattern based on the original skirt and then I could make more skirts to look like the original. So…I took out tissue paper, trace a pattern, made a sample on muslin to see if it would work and I was fairly pleased with the result.

Here is the original skirt…

IMG_9464

My dog decided he wanted me to pet him while Mom was taking the picture. And no, I am not I pulling his ears I am rubbing them.

IMG_9465

Here is a better picture where you can actually see the skirt. I got Toby to at least sit next to me while Mom took a picture.

Here is the new skirt…

IMG_9468

I loved the detail of the top stitching. On the original skirt, the top stitching blends in more since the thread is the same color as the fabric. On the skirt I made, I like the little bit of the contrast the black thread provides on the dark gray fabric.

IMG_9472

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

