Do Hard Things

When I started reading Do Hard Things by Alex and Brett Harris, I expected it to be an enjoyable read. I figured that since the book was written by teenagers and for teenagers that I would just come to the conclusion that it would have been a good book for me to read several years ago. I was in for a big surprise!

            Alex and Brett Harris are the founders of The Rebelution, which is “a teenage rebellion against low expectations”. Their book explains to teens how to take advantage of the youth, energy and vision that God has given them to do great things for Him.

            Alex and Brett are no strangers to do hard and seemingly impossible things. They write a blog (www.therebelution.com) that was featured in the New York Daily News just three weeks after they started it. In October of 2005 they were invited to an internship with the Alabama Supreme Court. After their internship they were invited to be the directors of four political campaigns. All of this while they were still teenagers, an age that most of today’s population puts down as children.

“We want to show you that deep down you want to do hard things, that you were created to do hard things, and what’s more, you can do hard things.”

            Brett and Alex do just that. Their book is encouraging and inspirational and they are easy to read. Even though I’m technically past the teenage years, which is the audience their book is written for, I was inspired to not say no to something just because I’m afraid of the magnitude of what is involved. One of the hard things that reading this book helped me to finally do was start this blog. It was intimidating to me to write anything on serious topics, knowing that both of my moms read my blog. After all, they have so much more experience and wisdom than I do! J But God has given me a heart to encourage young wives and mothers, so I stepped up with Melinda and started this blog.

            This is a must read book for all teens and young adults!

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

