Handmade Christmas 1.3: Simmer Pot

I had tried making simmer pots once or twice in the past but they did not turn out the way I had hoped. But for some reason I decided to try again…and this time I was more than happy with the results. Mom and I made several of these simmer pots to give to various friends and family members as Christmas gifts.

I did a little bit of research to find out what to put in simmer pots. Tipnut has a great list of all sorts of spices you can combine to make some yummy simmer pots. Using Tipnut’s list as a starting point, I decided what I wanted to put in my simmer pots based on what we already had in our cupboards as well as scents that sounded like a good combination to me.

For the simmer pots we made, we included whole cloves, whole allspice, cinnamon sticks, and dried orange. We mixed approxiamately equal parts of cloves and allspice, then threw in a couple cinnamon sticks. The oranges were quite a bit of work. We cut the oranges into thin slices, laid them on a cookie sheet, place them in the oven, and let them dry. Even though they were cut fairly thin…it still takes a LONG time for the slices to dry out completely.

After all that work, I didn’t think the oranges really added much to the aroma when simmering. But we decided to use the oranges anyway…because they look pretty in the jar.

My family and I enjoyed a couple simmer pots over the holiday season. Hopefully our family and friends will also enjoy them when they get them to simmering.

For other gifts ideas, check out “You Are the World’s Best Grandparent“, Toddler Pillow, and Handprint Christmas Ornament.

This post is linked to Frugal Friday and Creation Corner.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Christmas, Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Handmade Christmas 1.3: Simmer Pot

  1. What a neat idea for a gift. I am a big fan of simmering my own assortment of this and that to freshen up the air in our home, but I never thought about putting them into a jar as a gift. It does look so pretty!

    Stop by and see me sometime over at Free 2 Be Frugal.

Leave a Reply

